James Kelman: Dirt Road

Running from
Last event: Sunday 16 October 2016 at 6.30pm
  • Members: £27.90 (no booking fee)
    General Sale: Price: £6 - £10

Members get 10% off tickets at Storyhouse. Moonlight Flicks and Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre. £4 month, no commitment, priority booking, no fees, instant access, two tickets per member.

  • Chester Town Hall

Details

Part of Season Saver

Their lives and family torn apart by loss and grief, music-obsessed teenager Murdo and his father Tom set out on a road trip through the American South in attempt to heal the wounds they can’t discuss. Murdo longs for an adventure and a chance to experience a new life beyond his Scottish island home, while Tom lives in fear of losing what little he has left of his family and his pride. The trip will force them to confront their hopes and worries for the future, and their feelings about a past which both binds them together and drives them apart.

Partly inspired by Kelman’s own travel around the United States as a young man, Dirt Road will appeal to fans of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Crace, Marilynne Robinson, Raymond Carver and JM Coetzee. A film adaptation directed by Kenneth Glenaan is slated for release in 2017.

About the author

James Kelman was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1989 with A Disaffection, which also won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction. He went on to win the Booker five years later with How Late it Was, How Late, before being shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize in 2009 and 2011.

Duration

Approx 60 mins

Reviews

Dirt Road is brilliant, a deeply moving and exciting novel. I’ve always admired Kelman’s work and this had me gripped. The words feel so believable I forgot at times that I was reading fiction.
A true original … A real artist
Probably the most influential novelist of the post-war period
On Stage How to put on an Open-Air Theatre Show
Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre

Join producer Helen Redcliffe, along with others from the Storyhouse team, for a post show talk about everything that’s involved in making Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre.

Book now
On Stage Meet the Creatives
Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre

Join director John Young and designer Jess Curtis as they take to the stage to talk about what it’s like creating a show at Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre.

Book now
Pre-drinks in the Tepee
Grosvenor Open Air Theatre Tepee

Enjoy a free drink on us and an enchanting acoustic performance inside the magical setting of the tepee before the performance of Romeo and Juliet.

Book now
On Stage How to Be Amazingly Happy!
Garret Theatre

A big hearted, big thinking show of storytelling and physical comedy as our heroine searches for joy, identity and belonging.

Book now
On Stage Poetry Performance – Open Mic
Garret Theatre

This event is an opportunity to share with an audience something you have created in response to your thoughts and feelings around your story.

Book now
Activities Writing Workshop with Betty Doyle
Garret Bar

Take part in an informal writing workshop with poet Betty Doyle. Betty will take you through some writing techniques and creative exercises to help with the writing process.

Book now
Cinema Glyndebourne: La bohème (12A – TBC)

2hrs 20 | In La bohème, Puccini elevates ordinary people to the level of the extraordinary, the tragic, the timeless – transformed by a score that has seduced generations of audiences.

Book now
On Stage 10 Minute Stories – Men’s Panel
Garret Theatre

A collection of personal stories told in 10 minutes, chaired by Yvonne John.

Book now
On Stage 10 Minute Stories – Afternoon Panel
Garret Theatre

A collection of personal stories told in 10 minutes, chaired by Kirstie Higgins.

Book now
On Stage 10 Minute Stories – Morning Panel
Garret Theatre

A collection of personal stories told in 10 minutes, chaired by Victoria Firth.

Book now

Storyhouse is a charity.
After the most challenging year in our history, we still need your support to help us recover.
Here’s how you can help support the future of Storyhouse.