James Kelman: Dirt Road

Running from
Last event: Sunday 16 October 2016 at 6.30pm
  • Members: £27.90 (no booking fee)
    General Sale: Price: £6 - £10

Members get 10% off tickets at Storyhouse. Moonlight Flicks and Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre. £4 month, no commitment, priority booking, no fees, instant access, two tickets per member.

  • Chester Town Hall

Details

Part of Season Saver

Their lives and family torn apart by loss and grief, music-obsessed teenager Murdo and his father Tom set out on a road trip through the American South in attempt to heal the wounds they can’t discuss. Murdo longs for an adventure and a chance to experience a new life beyond his Scottish island home, while Tom lives in fear of losing what little he has left of his family and his pride. The trip will force them to confront their hopes and worries for the future, and their feelings about a past which both binds them together and drives them apart.

Partly inspired by Kelman’s own travel around the United States as a young man, Dirt Road will appeal to fans of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Crace, Marilynne Robinson, Raymond Carver and JM Coetzee. A film adaptation directed by Kenneth Glenaan is slated for release in 2017.

About the author

James Kelman was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1989 with A Disaffection, which also won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction. He went on to win the Booker five years later with How Late it Was, How Late, before being shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize in 2009 and 2011.

Duration

Approx 60 mins

Reviews

Dirt Road is brilliant, a deeply moving and exciting novel. I’ve always admired Kelman’s work and this had me gripped. The words feel so believable I forgot at times that I was reading fiction.
A true original … A real artist
Probably the most influential novelist of the post-war period
Activities Queer Stories
Board Room

Looking to queer figures and their stories as our stimulus and inspiration, this celebratory workshop will focus on both writing and performing spoken word poetry.

Book now
Activities Storyhouse Secret Spies Training Academy
Garret Theatre

Learn new skills, perfect existing ones, earn your Secret Spy badge, make new friends and have lots of fun this February half-term!

Book now
On Stage Dr Amir Khan: Doctor In The House
Storyhouse Theatre

Join everyone’s favourite family doctor, Dr Amir Khan, for a fascinating, heart-warming, and frequently hilarious evening.

Book now
Activities Youth Vibe 18+
Meeting Room

Youth Vibe over 18s is a group for D/deaf, Hearing loss or CODA people ages 18-25 to meet like-minded friends and have fun.

On Stage PopVox Choir Performance
The Kitchen

PopVox Choir is a contemporary fun and friendly choir for adults. They will be performing at Storyhouse as part of Storyhouse women.

On Stage Student Nurses Sing for Health
The Kitchen

Student nurses from Chester University will be showcasing their newly formed choir at Storyhouse.

Past event
Cinema Tori and Lokita (15)

1 hr 29 | A young boy and an adolescent girl, who have travelled to Belgium from Africa, pit their invincible friendship against the cruel conditions of their exile.

Book now
Cinema Preview: Sick of Myself (Cert: TBC)

1 hr 35 | A darkly comic film about terrible people. Signe and Thomas are in an unhealthy competitive relationship that takes a vicious turn

Book now
Cinema Prayers For The Stolen (15)

1 hr 51 | The complex, subtle, tender and heart-rending story of a young girl’s journey to adolescence in a village menaced by drug cartels and people traffickers.

Book now
Cinema Preview: Lunana A Yak In The Classroom (PG)

1 hr 49 | A teacher struggling for inspiration is sent to the remotest school in the world. It takes being so far away to understand the importance of his work.

Book now