James Kelman: Dirt Road

Running from
Last event: Sunday 16 October 2016 at 6.30pm
  • Members: £27.90 (no booking fee)
    General Sale: Price: £6 - £10

Members get 10% off tickets at Storyhouse. Moonlight Flicks and Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre. £4 month, no commitment, priority booking, no fees, instant access, two tickets per member.

  • Chester Town Hall

Details

Part of Season Saver

Their lives and family torn apart by loss and grief, music-obsessed teenager Murdo and his father Tom set out on a road trip through the American South in attempt to heal the wounds they can’t discuss. Murdo longs for an adventure and a chance to experience a new life beyond his Scottish island home, while Tom lives in fear of losing what little he has left of his family and his pride. The trip will force them to confront their hopes and worries for the future, and their feelings about a past which both binds them together and drives them apart.

Partly inspired by Kelman’s own travel around the United States as a young man, Dirt Road will appeal to fans of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Crace, Marilynne Robinson, Raymond Carver and JM Coetzee. A film adaptation directed by Kenneth Glenaan is slated for release in 2017.

About the author

James Kelman was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1989 with A Disaffection, which also won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction. He went on to win the Booker five years later with How Late it Was, How Late, before being shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize in 2009 and 2011.

Duration

Approx 60 mins

Reviews

Dirt Road is brilliant, a deeply moving and exciting novel. I’ve always admired Kelman’s work and this had me gripped. The words feel so believable I forgot at times that I was reading fiction.
A true original … A real artist
Probably the most influential novelist of the post-war period
Activities Get your photo taken with the cast of The Snow Queen!
Storyhouse Theatre

Members are invited to get their photo taken with the cast of The Snow Queen! Don’t miss your chance to meet the cast and have a magical Christmas memory to cherish forever.

Book now
Activities Bookbinding – Adult Craft Workshop
The Kitchen

Come along to the bookbinding workshop this November and create your own notebook to take home! Aimed at complete beginners.

Book now
Cinema Emily (TBC)

2 hr 10 | The transformative, exhilarating, and uplifting journey to womanhood of a rebel, who became one of the world’s most famous, enigmatic, and provocative writers.

Book now
Activities The Snow Party

You’re invited to a (completely free) family Snow Party! Bring down your little ones to join us for a disco,…

Cinema Sidney (12A)

1 hr 46 | A revealing documentary about Sidney Poitier, the iconic actor, filmmaker and activist at the centre of Hollywood and the Civil Rights Movement.

Book now
Cinema The Banshees of Inisherin (15 – TBC)

1 hr 54 | On a remote island off the coast of Ireland, Padraic is devastated when his buddy Colm suddenly puts an end to their lifelong friendship.

Book now
On Stage Pride and Prejudice* (*sort of)
Storyhouse Theatre

Direct from its triumph in the West End where it won the Laurence Olivier Award, Pride and Prejudice* (*sort of) is a unique and audacious retelling of Jane Austen’s most iconic love story.

Book now
On Stage Hey Duggee – The Live Theatre Show
Storyhouse Theatre

Squirrels get ready! Everyone’s big lovable dog Hey Duggee is touring for the first time ever and here’s your chance to see him!

Book now
On Stage Simon Brodkin: Screwed Up
Storyhouse Theatre

World-famous prankster and Lee Nelson creator Simon Brodkin is back with a sensational new stand-up show.

Book now
On Stage Prue Leith: Nothing In Moderation
Storyhouse Theatre

In her first ever live show, Prue will take audiences through the ups and downs of being a successful restaurateur, novelist, businesswoman and Great British Bake Off judge.

Book now