by August Strindberg

A new adaptation of Strindberg’s thrilling psychological drama, newly politically-charged in Amy Ng’s adaptation for Storyhouse.

Chinese New Year, 1930s Hong Kong. Julie is the daughter of the island’s British Governor. With her father away for the weekend, Julie comes downstairs to join the servants as they party, initiating a sexually-charged power game with her father’s butler.

What starts as a game descends into a fight for survival as sex, power, money and race collide on a hot night in the Pearl River Delta.

Time details

Please note: 12pm weekday performances are school performances only

Upcoming events

Thursday 20 February 2020 7.30pm Storyhouse Theatre Booking Unavailable
Friday 21 February 2020 7.30pm Storyhouse Theatre Booking Unavailable
Sunday 23 February 2020 2.30pm Storyhouse Theatre Booking Unavailable
Thursday 27 February 2020 7.30pm Storyhouse Theatre Booking Unavailable
Saturday 29 February 2020 7.30pm Storyhouse Theatre Booking Unavailable
Saturday 7 March 2020 7.30pm Storyhouse Theatre Booking Unavailable
Sunday 8 March 2020 2.30pm Storyhouse Theatre Booking Unavailable
Tuesday 10 March 2020 12pm Storyhouse Theatre Booking Unavailable
Wednesday 11 March 2020 7.30pm Storyhouse Theatre Booking Unavailable
Friday 13 March 2020 7.30pm Storyhouse Theatre Booking Unavailable

You may also be interested in

On Stage Antigone
Storyhouse Theatre

Whose law is greater – her god’s or her king’s? Sophocles’ taut, deadly masterpiece tears a family and the state apart in this urgent political drama.

Book now
On Stage Blue Stockings
Storyhouse Theatre

1896. Four defiant young women battle distractions of love, class and misogyny as they fight to change the future of education.

Booking not yet available