Summer Reading Challenge 2020

Join the reading challenge online! Running from
Happening today at 9am
  • Online

Do you know a primary school-aged child who loves to read?

The Summer Reading Challenge 2020 will launch on Friday 5 June and you can join the Silly Squad on a new adventure by setting your own personal reading challenge to complete this summer. Create a free profile to keep track of your books, reviews, and all of the special rewards you unlock along the way. You’ll also find heaps of super silly activities, quizzes, videos, games and more to keep you entertained at home. This year’s Challenge runs from June to September, so there is plenty of time to take part and get silly this summer.

For parents:

Children taking part in the Challenge will join the Silly Squad, an adventurous team of animals who love to have a laugh and get stuck in to all different kinds of funny books. The digital Challenge is free to access, featuring games, quizzes and digital and downloadable activities to incentivise and encourage children and their families to take part in treading related activities at home.

Head to www.sillysquad.org.uk to sign up to the Challenge!- and keep an eye on the Summer Reading Challenge Facebook page throughout the summer to catch even more fantastic videos from our wonderful ambassadors and book collection authors!

Upcoming events

Thursday 9 July 9am Online
Friday 10 July 9am Online
Saturday 11 July 9am Online
Sunday 12 July 9am Online
Monday 13 July 9am Online
Tuesday 14 July 9am Online
Wednesday 15 July 9am Online
Thursday 16 July 9am Online
Friday 17 July 9am Online
Saturday 18 July 9am Online
Sunday 19 July 9am Online
Monday 20 July 9am Online
Tuesday 21 July 9am Online
Wednesday 22 July 9am Online
Thursday 23 July 9am Online
Friday 24 July 9am Online
Saturday 25 July 9am Online
Sunday 26 July 9am Online
Monday 27 July 9am Online
Tuesday 28 July 9am Online
Wednesday 29 July 9am Online
Thursday 30 July 9am Online
Friday 31 July 9am Online
Saturday 1 August 9am Online
Sunday 2 August 9am Online
Monday 3 August 9am Online
Tuesday 4 August 9am Online
Wednesday 5 August 9am Online
Thursday 6 August 9am Online
Friday 7 August 9am Online
Saturday 8 August 9am Online
Sunday 9 August 9am Online
Monday 10 August 9am Online
Tuesday 11 August 9am Online
Wednesday 12 August 9am Online
Cinema The Perfect Candidate (PG)

1 hr 34 | When ambitious Maryam runs for her local city elections, her audacious candidacy starts to build momentum despite the restriction of women’s roles in Saudi Arabia.

Book now
Moonlight Drive

Moonlight Drive is a new open-air cinema experience in Chester.  A huge  30ft cinema screen and FM radio broadcast means…

Cinema Spider-Man Into The Spider-Verse (PG)

1 hr 57 | Teenager Miles Morales discovers the limitless possibilities of ‘the Spider-Verse’ as he learns about becoming a web-slinging hero.

Book now
Cinema Trolls World Tour (U)

1 hr 31 | [AD] Queen Poppy and her friends try to save all the Trolls and their music from the Queen of Hard Rock Trolls. Big screen family fun.

Book now
Cinema Bohemian Rhapsody (12A)
Sat 6.30pm
Storyhouse Theatre

2 hrs 14 | Join us for the foot-stomping celebration of Queen, their music and the Freddie Mercury.

Book now
Cinema The Greatest Showman (PG)
Sat 2pm; Sun 6.30pm
Storyhouse Theatre

1 hr 42 | Back by popular demand, Hugh Jackman stars in the hit musical celebrates the life of P. T. Barnum.

Book now
Cinema A Star is Born (15)
Mon 7pm; Tue 7pm + more times
Storyhouse Theatre

2 hrs 16 | Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga find and lose fame in this new take on the classic love story.

Book now
Cinema 1917 (15)
Mon 4pm; Tue 4pm; Wed 7pm + more times
Storyhouse Theatre

1 hr 59 | AD | At the height of the First World War, two young British soldiers are given a seemingly impossible mission.

Book now
Cinema Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (PG)
Tomorrow 2pm, 5pm, 8pm + more times
Storyhouse Theatre

2 hr 2 | Celebrating it’s 40th Anniversary in 2020 – a rare chance to see this most loved of the Star Wars franchise back on the big screen.

Book now
Cinema The Call of the Wild (PG)

1 hr 45 | AD | The story of Buck, a big-hearted dog whose life is turned upside down when he is uprooted from his California home to the exotic wilds of the Alaskan Yukon.

Book now

We are in a fight for survival. 

Our charity is resilient, but we need your help to come back even stronger. We can only do that with the support of our 1m customers and friends.

There are four ways you can help us, click here to find out more.