To Have And To Hold

A new digital public art commission by Donna Leishman Running from
Next event: Tuesday 27 July at 8am

An unmissable new digital artwork which marries centuries old Chester folklore with 21st Century technology has been unveiled by Storyhouse. 

Researcher and visual artist Donna Leishman’s augmented reality work To Have & To Hold is the latest public art commission by Chester’s acclaimed cultural centre. 

Anyone with a smart phone can enjoy the work which is accessed through a QR code or via a website on your phone or tablet. 

The artist selected and responded to three pieces of Chester folklore – the story of Charlotte Lucy Beatrice Egerton, Billy Hobby’s Well in Grosvenor Park and the city’s ‘impossible’ stairs – to create the online body of work. 
And to emphasise that folklore is living and ever evolving, people are also encouraged to voice their own thoughts and stories through a link on the project website.

To experience To Have & To Hold, visit https://tohavetohold.uk 

Upcoming events

Tuesday 27 July 8am Online
Wednesday 28 July 8am Online
Thursday 29 July 8am Online
Friday 30 July 8am Online
Saturday 31 July 8am Online
Sunday 1 August 8am Online
Monday 2 August 8am Online
Tuesday 3 August 8am Online
Wednesday 4 August 8am Online
Thursday 5 August 8am Online
Friday 6 August 8am Online
Saturday 7 August 8am Online
Sunday 8 August 8am Online
Monday 9 August 8am Online
Tuesday 10 August 8am Online
Wednesday 11 August 8am Online
Thursday 12 August 8am Online
Friday 13 August 8am Online
Saturday 14 August 8am Online
Sunday 15 August 8am Online
Monday 16 August 8am Online
Tuesday 17 August 8am Online
Wednesday 18 August 8am Online
Thursday 19 August 8am Online
Friday 20 August 8am Online
Saturday 21 August 8am Online
Sunday 22 August 8am Online
Monday 23 August 8am Online
Tuesday 24 August 8am Online
Wednesday 25 August 8am Online
Thursday 26 August 8am Online
Friday 27 August 8am Online
Saturday 28 August 8am Online
Sunday 29 August 8am Online
Monday 30 August 8am Online
Tuesday 31 August 8am Online
Wednesday 1 September 8am Online
Thursday 2 September 8am Online
Friday 3 September 8am Online
Saturday 4 September 8am Online
Sunday 5 September 8am Online
Cinema Nowhere Special (12A)
Movie Theatre

1hr 36 | Single dad, John, is faced with a terminal illness. In his last weeks he decides he must take it upon himself to find the perfect foster home for his child.

Book now
Activities I Move, We Move – A Movement Workshop by RAWD Project
Garret Theatre

Calling all movers, shakers, and movement makers! Join the RAWD gang for an afternoon of toe tapping fun! Grab your leg warmers as we explore disability movement and moving and grooving.

On Stage RAWD present Phone Home
Garret Theatre

After a long year of shielding, the disabled artists of RAWD crash land at Storyhouse with their comeback performance; Phone Home.

Book now
Activities Create Art With An Artist
Town Hall Square

We’re taking art and creativity outside this summer with five fantastic days of free arty activity for young people and…

Activities Rhymetime
The Kitchen

Join us in the Kitchen at Storyhouse for some fun rhymes and stories with the library team. Suitable for younger children and toddlers.

Book now
Cinema Romeo & Juliet

1hr 40 | A bold new film bringing to life the remarkable backstage spaces of the National Theatre in which desire, dreams and destiny collide to make Shakespeare’s romantic tragedy sing in an entirely new way. 

Book now
Cinema Night of The Kings (15)

1hr 33 | An exhilarating tale of survival in one of the world’s most dangerous prisons and a beautiful ode to the power of storytelling.

Book now
Cinema Jungle Cruise (12A)
Movie Theatre

2hr 7 | A rollicking thrill ride down the Amazon starring Emily Blunt and Dwayne Johnson.

Book now
Activities Can Hand-Building Pots Promote a Positive Mindset?
Online

This clay workshop explores the idea of embodiment while using a pot forming technique that aids to form a more positive mindset.

Activities Rule-Breaking Art
Online

A bespoke art class designed to break the rules. Colour outside the lines, make the sky green and create a piece of art that excites you.

Storyhouse is a charity.
After the most challenging year in our history, we still need your support to help us recover.
Here’s how you can help support the future of Storyhouse.