Storyhouse nominated for Best Theatre Building in The Stage Awards.

The world’s oldest and best theatre publication, The Stage, has announced the shortlist for its annual industry awards, celebrating success within the performing arts. Storyhouse, Chester’s £37m theatre, cinema and library which opened in May and has already welcomed over half a million visits, is nominated for Best Theatre Building.

Alistair Smith, editor of The Stage and chair of the judging panel, said:

“I’m delighted The Stage Awards once again celebrate the achievements of theatres from across the UK, many of which aren’t recognised at other ceremonies. This year’s shortlist highlights the theatrical talent among organisations of all sizes, right across the UK.”

Andrew Bentley, CEO of Storyhouse, said:

“We are thrilled to have been nominated for such a prestigious industry award. It’s been an incredible six months since we opened our doors in May, surpassing many of our expectations. To be in a category with such renowned organisations is testament to all that we have achieved this year.”

The Stage Awards, in association with Integro Insurance Brokers Ltd, are decided by The Stage’s senior editorial team, following extensive consultation with leading figures in the theatre industry and a public nomination process. The winners will be announced on January 26, 2018 at a ceremony at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane.

Previous winners of The Stage Awards include: the National Theatre, Sonia Friedman Productions, Shakespeare’s Globe, Almeida Theatre, Royal Exchange Theatre, Young Vic Theatre, Michael Grandage Company, National Youth Theatre, Sheffield Theatres, Arts Educational Schools, Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures and Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre.

The Stage Awards 2017 are presented in association with Integro Insurance Brokers Ltd. Category sponsors for this year’s event include Ambassador Theatre Group,, Managed Networks, TodayTix, Charcoalblue, White Light, GDS, PRG XL Video and Evolution Productions.

Shortlist in full

Theatre Building of the Year
Bridge Theatre, London
Bush Theatre, London
Storyhouse, Chester

Regional Theatre of the Year
Sponsored by Evolution Productions
Birmingham Hippodrome
Royal Exchange, Manchester
Sherman Theatre, Cardiff

London Theatre of the Year
Sponsored by Managed Networks
Almeida Theatre
Barbican Centre
National Theatre

Fringe Theatre of the Year
Sponsored by
Hope Mill Theatre, Manchester
Orange Tree Theatre, London
Summerhall, Edinburgh

Producer of the Year
Sponsored by PRG XL Video
Hull City of Culture
Michael Harrison Productions
Sadler’s Wells, London

School of the Year
Sponsored by TodayTix
Royal Exchange Young Company, Manchester
Sandringham School, St Albans
Scottish Youth Theatre, Glasgow

International Award
Sponsored by Ambassador Theatre Group
Cervantes Theatre
Imaginate for the Edinburgh International Children’s Festival

Innovation Award
Sponsored by Charcoalblue
The Everyman Company, Liverpool
National Theatre Open Access Capture pilot scheme
Team behind The Believers Are But Brothers

Sustainability Award
Sponsored by GDS
Arcola Theatre
The Attic
The Mill at Sonning

An Unsung Hero award, sponsored by White Light, (for which there is no shortlist) will also be announced at the ceremony.