A monthly open mic for, by and with young people and adults living with a disability. Every month there will be daytime session on a Wednesday and an evening session on a Thursday. The stage is yours, here is your opportunity to share a song, poem, comedy sketch or musical performance. All abilities welcome. This is a safe space that gives anybody the opportunity to express themselves.

This is a noisy, energetic community that loves to clap, whoop and encourage anyone to attend as a member of the audience or performer.

This open mic night was founded in 2018 at the second Kaleidoscope Festival by Storyhouse and a band called Dark Arc led by their music teacher Simon Scott.

The Garret Theatre has space for 150 people. The busiest the event has been about a 60 person audience so there is lots of room to sit spaced out if you choose to.

Wednesday Daytime Open Mic
12.30pm – Doors open – arrive, settle in and if you are performing say hello to Simon the MC
1pm – Performances will start

Thursday Evening Open Mic
6.15pm – Doors open – arrive, settle in and if you are performing say hello to Simon the MC
6.45pm – Performances will start
We are pleased to see so many people wanting to perform at the open mic! Its become so popular that the MC Simon is asking you to arrive anytime after 6.15pm to get your name on the performance list. The performance list will close at 6.45pm and the event will start soon after that.

 

If you would like to perform, please complete the contact form below to tell us your name, what you want to perform and if you need a backing track.

Duration

Approx 120 mins

Upcoming events

Thursday 15 December 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 19 January 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 25 January 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 16 February 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 22 February 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 16 March 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 22 March 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 20 April 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 26 April 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 18 May 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 24 May 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 15 June 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 28 June 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 20 July 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 26 July 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 17 August 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 23 August 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 21 September 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 27 September 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 19 October 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 25 October 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 16 November 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre
Wednesday 29 November 2023 12.30pm Garret Theatre
Thursday 21 December 2023 6.15pm Garret Theatre

You may also be interested in

Activities Christmas Bauble Workshop
The Kitchen

Come along to our festive bauble making workshop and stitch yourself, or a loved one, a felt bauble with some hidden sweets inside.

Book now
Activities Santa’s Reindeer Training: Drama Workshop
Storytelling Room

See if you have what it takes to pass Santa’s Reindeer Training. Do you have the skills to navigate the globe on Christmas Eve? Rudolph can’t do it all alone!

Sold out
Activities, clubs and groups

From book clubs and writers’ groups to scrabble and sewing sessions; support and recovery workshops to baby and kids’ crafts and activities,…